Latest info about scholarships, university admission, visa, travel, immigration

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom

The Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships aim to provide students from developing countries with the great opportunity to acquire professional knowledge and skills at one of the best UK universities, but without leaving their home countries. These days the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) collaborates with almost 20 UK institutions to award more than 1.000 scholarships yearly and therefore to recruit the most successful candidates from developing Commonwealth countries.

Citizens of the following countries are eligible to apply: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda Nauru, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Cameroon, Dominica, Falkland Island, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guineas, Pitcairn, Rwanda, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent, Sierra Leone, Solomon Island, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Western Samoa and Zambia.

In 2013 the UK Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are provided with the Master’s degree courses listed below. Please enter the official website of the relevant institution to learn more details about the studies and features of the application process.

Institutions and Fields of Study

Bangor University MSc Tropical Forestry
Cardiff University ·         MSc Clinical Optometry

·         MSc Palliative Medicine/Care

Institute of Education, University of London MA Education and International Development
Leeds Metropolitan University MSc Public Health and Health Promotion
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine ·         MSc Clinical Trials

·         MSc Epidemiology

·         MSc Global Health Policy

·         MSc Infectious Diseases

·         MSc Public Health

London South Bank University MSc Education for Sustainability
Open University MSc Development Management
Royal Veterinary College, University of London MSc Veterinary Epidemiology and Public Health
School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London MSc Poverty Reduction: Policy and Practice
University of Bath MSc International Construction Management
University of Dundee MN Master of Nursing
University of Edinburgh ·         MSc Biodiversity, Wildlife and Ecosystem Health

·         MSc Global Health and Infectious Diseases

·         MSc Global Health and Non-Communicable Diseases

·         MSc International Animal Health

University of Liverpool MPH Master of Public Health
University of Nottingham MA Education
University of Oxford MSc International Human Rights Law
University of Southampton MSc Gerontology
University of York MPA Master of Public Administration and International Development


Eligibility Criteria

To take part in the scholarship program, you must meet the following eligibility criteria:

  1. you must be a citizen of one of developing Commonwealth countries, a refugee or a British protected person (BPP);
  2. you must have a valid status of permanent resident of a developing Commonwealth country;
  3. you must hold a 1st degree of upper second-class standard or any higher qualification; lower qualification can be considered provided that you have sufficient and relevant professional experience;
  4. you should note that candidates can be required to prove their English language skills through undertaking the academic IELTS (the minimum sufficient score is 6.5), so please check this requirement with the university you choose (you should pay attention that your IELTS certificate will be considered valid if the test was taken not earlier than September 1st, 2012).

Application Process

Please take into your consideration that more exact details concerning the application process should be checked on the website of the university you choose.

All candidates must fill in a specially designed application form in the Electronic Application System of CSC. The deadline is 23:59 GMT on May 17th, 2013. The information about how to apply with EAS is provided on the official website of the Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships.

Like us on Facebook to get FREE updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.